Project 333: Laundry Day

A couple of days ago, it happened. I finally ran out of clothes.

One of the upshots of Project 333, thus far, has been the ease of picking out an outfit in the morning, and the way my laundry never piles up, because I only have about 20 washable items in circulation. A load of laundry each week and I’m golden.

The not so great part, as it turns out, is forgetting to turn on the dryer. I problem solved with a dress, boots, and a sweater coat, because I was out of clean pants and shirts. The thing is, we’re halfway through the project and I’ve only just this once encountered the feeling of not having anything to wear! I used to have that sentiment almost every morning while staring into my closet of myriad options. The project is still going well, and I finally added a 33rd item back into the mix, having lost my wool coat. The new item? This lovely pair of red shoes! I’ve been paring down a lot lately, but having recently worn out my favorite clogs, when I found these on clearance yesterday at a locally owned outdoor store, I felt that it was time to take the plunge. The very best thing about Project 333 is that it has greatly reduced my tendency to buy new things and increased my appreciation for the ones I do buy! I don’t think I’ve ever been this happy or grateful over a new pair of shoes.

In the midst of all this discussion of minimalism and fashion and what to wear, though, I came across a debate that deserves to be addressed. I’ve had the luxury of deciding to participate in this project, and giving my wardrobe some thoughtful consideration. Every person should have the right to make his or her own decisions about what to wear and how to present him or herself to the world. Yet women across the country and around the world are often told how to dress, or how to cover up while breastfeeding. Today, thanks to my friend Kristin and courtesy of the blog PhD in Parenting, I came across a great video that sums up my own thoughts nicely:

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Project 333: Laundry Day

  1. Pingback: 33 Things I learned from Project 333 | A Walk to Simplicity

  2. This post is really interesting…Since doing Project 333 a few years back, I’ve stuck with a minimalist wardrobe, which is really helpful since I’m a college student and don’t have much time to dig through a packed closet. I do have one question, though. What do you wear when doing your laundry? I have just enough clothes for one week and I can’t wash my only pair of jeans when I’m wearing them! Thanks a bunch, Emily.

    • Hi Emily,

      Good question! We had a washer and dryer in our house when we started Project 333, so I could do laundry in my jammies if I needed to, but no longer…now I tend to raid Josh’s closet when I’m out of clean clothes :) (we wash our laundry separately, which dates back to the time he left a permanent marker in his pants pocket and threw them into the laundry hamper…) If you need to, I think it would be okay to “cheat” and wear an item of clothing from outside your 33 on laundry day. I’ve always felt that this project is meant to be a help and not a hindrance, so it’s okay to bend the rules a bit if it makes life easier. It’s the principle of the thing that matters, not the details.

      Caroline

Join the Conversation

