Summer Berry Cobbler

It’s berry season! I came home a few days ago with entirely too many strawberries, all of them ripe and ready to be eaten. I had strawberry smoothies. Strawberries in my yogurt. Strawberries in my cereal, in my salad, even on my sandwich (try it! cream cheese and strawberries marinated in a little balsamic are a pretty great combination). Still, there were more strawberries. I set out to make a strawberry rhubarb pie, but rhubarb was nowhere to be found (I tried the farmer’s market and three grocery stores – I think we’re just a little too far past rhubarb season, and I missed the window of opportunity for my area).

So I made something perfect for the beginning of summer. I baked the very first recipe I ever learned to make, and took it with me to fieldwork in honor of my clinical instructor’s birthday. It’s simple, tasty, and a nice way to use summer berries. Here’s the cobbler recipe my grandma taught me when she was teaching me how to bake:

  • 1 c. self rising flour
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 stick butter
  • Berries or sliced fruit, to taste

Grease a casserole dish with butter, and heat oven to 350 F. Mix together flour, sugar and milk in a large bowl. Melt butter and pour into bowl. Stir together (mixture will still have lumps.) Pour into casserole dish. Add in fruit (I add several cups of berries to mine) and bake for 45 minutes or until golden brown and delicious. Use the toothpick test to check for doneness, let cool, then refrigerate. It’s glorious warm with ice cream or cold with a glass of milk!

Every summer when I was a kid, we would run out into the field and pick blackberries and carry them home to my grandma, who would make a fresh cobbler that we’d eat in the kitchen while it was still piping hot. My grandma is a wonderful, tough, gracious Southern lady who has been unfailingly kind and generous with me – I’m so lucky to have her, and those blackberry cobbler summers are some of my fondest childhood memories. I know that makes this recipe even more sweet for me! I’ve made it with strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, raspberries, peaches, and even once, when I didn’t have any fruit, with chocolate chips! You can use frozen, canned, or fresh fruit – I prefer fresh, but I’ve made the cobbler with all three and it’s turned out every time. Happy strawberry season!

3 thoughts on “Summer Berry Cobbler

  1. Rhubarb is kind of a Yankee thing, so most of our Huntsville, AL, grocery stores don’t stock it – we’ve had the best luck with Publix and EarthFare…and found it at a Kroger in Blacksburg, VA, day before yesterday. :)

    • Thanks, Katie – so great to hear from you! Kroger is where I found it, too, and I can’t tell you how excited I was! Strawberry rhubarb pie recipe coming SOON.

Join the Conversation

