November’s Resolution: Minified Meals

Last week I got so hungry on my way home from work that I popped into the store (just to buy coffee, I swear!) and somehow made it back to my car with a bag of cashews and a chocolate bar. I ate them both. Needless to say, I wasn’t hungry for dinner.

There will always be room in my life for both cashews and chocolate (and coffee, for that matter). But they’re not exactly dinner material. My problem is that I’m in too much of a hurry to make a real meal some nights, so I wind up eating cheese. Yes, cheese. This month, that changes.

We’ve already covered habit change (devote at least a month to a single new habit, make it public, document it somehow), so here’s the plan: I’m going to make an honest effort to eat three real meals a day, every day (cashews or cheese is not, by the standards of this endeavor, a real meal). Since dinner is my downfall, I’m going to try out a bunch of quick (less than 10 minutes), easy vegetarian dinners that are also nutritious. I’m going to post them on the blog, with comments about whether they were good, bland, harder than I expected…you get the idea.

Suggestions are welcome! I’m definitely going to try out some of the dinners from over at The Stone Soup, since her whole schtick is 5 ingredient, 10 minute meals, but I’m more than happy to hear about your ideas as well! Nevermind. Stone Soup appears to be on a paleo kick, which I’m sure is awesome…if you’re a carnivore. I’m not, so I think I’ll hunt elsewhere for my simple vegetarian recipes…anybody got a good vegetarian site to recommend?

Happy eating, friends!

4 thoughts on “November’s Resolution: Minified Meals

  1. I have the same problems-especially when I’m trying to pack lunch. We like making way too much food-especially when it’s something that keeps well like curry vegetables and rice or chili. If we can cook once and eat four times then we did well.

  2. From our favorite Greek recipe book:

    1 medium onion, sliced
    2 garlic cloves, minced
    1 tablespoon olive oil
    1 can of diced tomatoes (or about 2 cups)
    2 tablespoons tomato paste
    1 can (15 oz) chick peas (garbanzos), rinsed and drained
    1 can (14oz) vegetable broth
    1/2 tsp rosemary
    1 tsp dried oregano
    1/2 tsp salt
    1/4 tsp pepper
    1 (6oz) package baby spinach
    2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

    Saute onions and garlic in oil until tender. Stir in tomatoes, tomato paste, chickpeas, broth, rosemary, oregano, salt and pepper. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes, stiring once or twice, until the sauce is thickened. Add spinach and parsley. Mix well . Cook 5 minutes.

    Serve over hot buttered orzo (I’m sure you can substitute olive oil for the butter)

    • Oh, I am totally trying that! In fact, I have tried that – you’ve cooked it for me, and it’s delicious. Thanks for the recipe!!! Next I’ve got to dig up the crunchy coleslaw recipe you gave me!

  3. Pingback: How to Get More Exercise in 3 Easy Steps | Project Minify

Join the Conversation

