Minified Meal: Herbed Spaghetti Squash with Parmesan

Tonight for dinner, I made the best Minified Meal yet. (I know. I’ve only posted 2. The others haven’t been Minify-worthy). But tonight I hit the nail on the head!This one takes a little bit more planning ahead than my usual frenetic, improvisational meals, but it had relatively few ingredients, was from scratch, and took about 10 minutes of active cooking (plus an hour of writing a paper while the squash baked), so I think it fits the parameters of this month’s project.

As my husband can attest, I hate pasta. Not all pasta, but definitely a majority of it. I don’t know why. Pasta always makes me feel worse instead of better, if that makes any sense. This makes my husband, a great pasta lover, sort of sad. But I’m always looking for a creative compromise. Tonight, instead of spaghetti (disgusting!) I made spaghetti squash (delicious!) I’m calling it Scarborough Fair Spaghetti Squash, and not only for the virtues of alliteration (although I am both a literature geek and easily entertained, so alliteration is a definite bonus). Read the list of ingredients and you’ll get the idea.

Ingredients

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Parsley
  • Sage (I used fresh, because I happen to be growing some. It was DELICIOUS)
  • Rosemary
  • Thyme
  • Parmesan (all herbs and seasonings are to taste – I did maybe 1/2 tsp per herb plus 2 Tbsp. parmesan)

Get it? Scarborough Fair? No? That’s okay. Take a moment to get caught up on your classic folk music and then read the rest of the recipe.

Preheat your oven to 350 F. Slice the squash lengthwise, place it sliced ends down in a pan of water (the water should come about halfway up the squash) and cover it with foil. Bake it for about 45 minutes. Then flip the squash so it’s sliced side up, cover with foil again, and bake for another 15 minutes or so. Take it out of the oven, let it cool for a few minutes, and then scoop the guts out (the seed part with the slimy pulp and liquid). You should be left with an inch or two of squash flesh. Use a fork to pull this out (it will spaghetti-fy before your very eyes). Heat it in a pan with all the rest of the ingredients, saving the parmesan for the very end) and then serve hot.

Enjoy!

Confession: I didn’t have any actual thyme, so I skipped it. I just really liked the Scarborough Fair concept because I thought it would make it easy to remember the recipe next time! If you want to make it exactly like I did, skip the thyme, be generous with the parmesan, and serve it with a glass of red wine! Pofta buna, prieteni mei!

4 thoughts on “Minified Meal: Herbed Spaghetti Squash with Parmesan

  1. Yay! I have spaghetti squash that needs cooking. I’m always super lazy and microwave spaghetti squash though… thoughts on whether it tastes better baked?

    • Honestly I think if microwaving it is working for you, stick with the 5 minute pan saute and see how that works – I think once you add the butter, herbs and cheese, there might be a slight textural difference but the flavor will be the same, and that’s the key thing with this dish!

Join the Conversation

