Giving Thanks and Buying Nothing

Today is “Black Friday,” so known because it puts American retailers in the black each year in terms of sales. It’s also International Buy Nothing Day, which represents a challenge to all of us to reconsider our spending, our debt, our consumption, and sources of happiness other than shopping. I consider it a worthy holiday indeed. I’ll be honoring my annual resolution not to buy anything on Black Friday. Not a soda, not gas for my car, and definitely not a big screen T.V. Instead, I’m headed to the park to enjoy the beautiful weather – we’ll be doing handmade Christmas again this year, which makes me happier than anything purchased at the mall ever has. I also kept my Thanksgiving plan of making a list of the things I am grateful for – here it is!

  • Most of all, I am so thankful for my husband,who is also my best friend, and the funniest person I know, and probably the only person on earth who could put up with me (though he often says the reverse is also true – we make a good pair)
  • my sister – my other best friend, and the other funniest person I know
  • my parents, who are always supportive, always good
  • my in-laws, who are like second parents, and a total blessing to me
  • my grandparents, and my grandparents-in-law, all good kind people and keepers of our family histories
  • my friends. my utterly amazing, hilarious, brilliant friends.
  • my pets, who are great company
  • school: the funding, the opportunity, the learning…all of it.
  • my classmates, past and present – I learn as much from them as I do from the readings and the faculty. Plus, they make me laugh.
  • coffee. it’s liquid happiness, and the darker and oilier the roast, the better. Counter Culture Coffee, I love you, and most of all your Noble’s Blend, more than words can say.
  • good books. Most recently, Barbara Kingsolver’s The Lacuna.
  • vacation time
  • new recipes
  • the mountains
  • my favorite restaurant (Vimala’s Curryblossom Cafe in Chapel Hill)
  • laughter
  • good beer
  • warm socks
  • nice neighbors
  • sleeping in
  • the Chapel Hill free bus system
  • board games
  • and last but not least, blogs. This one, and the chance it gives me to connect with friends new and old, but also all of the awesome ones I read.

Happy Buy Nothing Day, everyone. At least for this one beautiful day…let’s all go out and do something fun that won’t put us into debt.

One thought on “Giving Thanks and Buying Nothing

  1. Wonderful. I just read an article that gratitude changes your brain chemistry in a positive way. Not sure what shopping does to it. Kay Harkins

Join the Conversation

