The perfect weekend

Spending a good part of the weekend with this lovely lady was WONDERFUL, as we don't get to spend nearly enough time together these days, and she's moving away in a few months!

I’m drawing to the close of my Monday. Getting back into the swing of things at the end of a lovely weekend is always tough, but at least I can say that for once, I spent a perfect weekend. We didn’t do anything out of the ordinary, and Saturday had its ups and downs, but at the end, all I could think was “I really needed that!” All I did was

  • get Thai food with my friend David
  • (and frozen yogurt for dessert)
  • catch up with some dear friends on the phone
  • take Arlo to the dog park
  • sit in the living room with the windows open and listen to it rain
  • work on this here blog (mostly this post)
  • read a good book (it’s called The Stars of Ballymenone, by Henry Glassie)
  • have friends over for St. Patrick’s Day (old friends, from our college days and before, which is always wonderful)
  • play games, and write a silly story as a group (I believe it involved an egg, lawn sprinklers, and a profane personal motto. It was entirely incoherent)
  • dance around the living room with one of my best friends (and the pup, who loves dancing)
  • make potatoes (it was a potato themed potluck, in honor of St. Patrick’s Day. We had potatoes and kale, potato salad, twice baked potatoes…)
  • take the pup for a few walks in the sun
  • go out for brunch at Guglhupf in Durham, which just might be the best restaurant ever
  • Buy some fresh bread, cheese and coffee (and a brownie cookie) from the bakery
  • make cupcakes
  • and (perhaps most important) sleep in.

And now Monday is winding down, and I can definitively say – deciding to unplug for a weekend and relax and spend time with the ones I love was a good call. It let me come back to the week recharged and ready to work! Sort of…I would’ve also been glad for another day to sleep in and bake things :)

2 thoughts on “The perfect weekend

Join the Conversation

