Minified Meals:Warm Bean Salad

Last night, I made a dinner that I thought was both satisfying and filling, so I thought I’d share, with the caveat that J didn’t love it nearly as much as I did (he’s too polite to say so, but we’ve known each other a really long time – there’s no fooling me now). As vegetarians, we have to be careful to make sure we’re getting enough whole protein (including all of our essential amino acids). One way to get whole protein is with a combination of beans and corn. I had already had popcorn for a snack,so last evening, I wanted to make sure we ate some beans to get our whole protein for the day. Here’s what I whipped up from scratch:

  • 1 can Cannellini Beans
  • I can Kidney Beans
  • splash of vinegar
  • splash of olive oil
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of pepper

Combine in a cast iron sauce pan and stir gently over medium heat. After 5 minutes, add

  • Heaping tablespoon Dijon Mustard
  • Tablespoon dried dill

Continue to cook until warmed through and beans are as tender/crunchy as you like them.

Optional for the non-vegans in the crowd: add chopped boiled egg or goat cheese after removing from heat.

Enjoy!

Join the Conversation

