On academia, and taking my boards

A few weeks ago, I posted that I had taken my boards (and eaten ice cream!). A few days ago, I got word about the results…

I passed! Which means I’m a real occupational therapist, at long last. I’m the last of my class to take the boards, and am glad to say that I didn’t ruin our cohort’s perfect record of a 100% pass rate for first-time test takers. Very glad, because that would have been embarrassing!

Since I’ve been getting this question a lot lately in relation to taking the boards: this does not mean that I’m done with school. At this moment in time, I’m starting my fourth year of a seven(ish) year graduate process.  Although I still have a long haul ahead of me (and I’m not sure it gets easier after graduation…) I am very, very fortunate to be studying something I love, to have an amazing adviser and fantastic classmates (and a supportive, thoughtful office mate), and to receive funding so that I don’t have to go deeply into debt to make this happen. On the whole, I am a very lucky grad student.

Me with some classmates – photo by K. Belardi

Right now, I’m happy to be board certified, and oh so relieved. I just have to find a new way to celebrate that isn’t ice cream…any suggestions?

Join the Conversation

