Simple Living Tip #2: Edit Your Possessions

our donation pile, which we try to add something to every day. Someday I hope we’ll reach an amount of stuff that feels comfortable, but we’re not there yet!

I’ve written a lot about this already, but it bears repeating – one of the best things you can do to simplify your life is to get rid of about half of your stuff. I know, that sounds extreme. I thought so too, back when I started out. I initially thought of clutter as the things we didn’t want and weren’t too aware of – the things sitting on shelves in our closets, or shoved under the bed. But I’ve come to realize that I had too much nice stuff as well, perfectly useful or lovely things that would do more good in someone else’s home. I loved both of our cake stands, but eventually realized that there will never be a circumstance under which I use both of them at the same time.

It’s not just about donating your old cell phone when you get a new one. It’s about considering how many t-shirts you actually want to own. They might all be nice, but for me, if I have too many of them to fit in the drawer, some of them have to go. It’s a way of limiting the amount of space we need, the amount of laundry we do, the difficulty of moving, and that sense of weight that comes with overconsumption. It has also, in a handy bonus, helped me to really reconsider my purchases. I think more about whether I really want to own something for a very long time, rather than buying it just because I like it. It helps keep our budget in check.

Edit your possessions, folks. Limit the things you own. It’ll feel good, I promise.

2 thoughts on “Simple Living Tip #2: Edit Your Possessions

  1. Hey Caroline, I might like those wooden forks if they would be good to serve salad. You will be happy to know that we actually got rid of the 1970’s cabinet TV that belonged to your grandmother. My own theory about Caroline’s minifying is that she grew up with a Depression era grandmother who would get rid of nothing!

    • Mom, those forks are long gone – sorry! I think the Depression era grandmother might be part of the picture, but for me, it has more to do with wanting to live sustainably and thoughtfully. I think it also has a lot to do with having moved between continents twice with a couple of suitcases each time – I rather liked the feeling of not being weighed down by lots of stuff.

Join the Conversation

