Minified Meals: School Lunch, Grilled Cheese Edition

A few weeks ago, I posted about my intention to make my own lunches this semester. So far, no good…although I have acquired this lunchbox, which looks like an owl (although I got it on super clearance, so it was not in fact $11. I also failed to take a picture of my own lunchbox, but some other intrepid blogger did, so here you go):

Image from cutehoots.blogspot.com

I freely admit that this is not the lunchbox I would have chosen had it not been on super clearance. But grad students can’t afford to be choosy…besides, there are worse things than riding the bus every morning with an America colored owl lunchbox. At least it’s not an eagle…that would be too much for 6 am, by far.

So. In addition to collecting affordable children’s lunch wares (stylin!) I’ve been collecting sandwich recipes to add to said lunchbox. Here are a few that I plan to try out this week (click images for recipes at their original source):

Goat Cheese and Strawberry Grilled Cheese:

Image and recipe, funny enough, are from torispelling.com

I think this one should be just as good cold in my lunch as it would warm from the griddle. Here’s hoping, anyway!

Ingredients

  • 1 (4-oz.) goat cheese log, softened
  • 6 whole grain bread slices
  • 4 1/2 teaspoons red pepper jelly
  • 3/4 cup sliced fresh strawberries
  • 6 large fresh basil leaves
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh watercress or arugula
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Spread goat cheese on 1 side of 3 bread slices.
  2. Spread pepper jelly on 1 side of remaining bread slices; layer with strawberries, basil leaves, and watercress.
  3. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Top with remaining bread, goat cheese sides down.
  5. Cook sandwiches in a large, lightly greased nonstick skillet over medium heat 2 to 3 minutes on each side or until golden brown.

Beets and Goat Cheese Sandwich

I have such a good feeling about this one.

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 Beets
  • Olive Oil
  • Arugula
  • Goat Cheese
  • Butter
  • French Bread
  • 1/2 ounce sherry (optional)
  • Salt

The simple version of this recipe is to roast the beets first, then mix it all together for a delicious grilled cheese, but she’s got much more detailed instructions on her website (and I plan to follow them…really, I do)
So I guess I’m on a goat cheese kick! I plan to make my sandwiches the night before class, or in the morning while I’m waiting on the French press. Wish me luck! What about all of you? Anybody trying hard to live up to a new resolution?

One thought on “Minified Meals: School Lunch, Grilled Cheese Edition

Join the Conversation

