Holiday Traditions

I am a fool for Christmas. Old movies. Cookies. My gauche, fabulous, beloved thrift store tree:

20121203-002037.jpg

It has fiber optic lights in all the colors of the rainbow. It is the antithesis of the beautiful real Fraser Firs with white lights that I grew up with. But since we still get to see my parents every Christmas, I get the best of both worlds. Someday I’m going to luck out and find an old school aluminum tree, and I’ll cart it home and be all ecstatic, and Josh will pretend to be ecstatic too because he’s a little afraid of me at Christmastime. My love for this holiday will not be denied. No one can stand between us. Except maybe finals…they do present a challenge. I’ve been trying to balance school with Christmasy things, like making hot cocoa and decorating the tree. Sunday afternoon I went to see the Carolina Ballet’s performance of The Nutcracker. I loved it. We go every year.

For all my frustration with commercialization and bad holiday music and all the stress of finals…I love this time of year. I love breaking out my hats and scarves and coats. I’m excited about holiday parties. And I’m about to get serious about making this year’s gifts for handmade Christmas. ‘Tis the season, y’all. For me, it’s the traditions that make it most meaningful. Christmas breakfast with my family. Making presents with Josh. Watching my favorite holiday movie (Love Actually) for the tenth time. Those are the things I look forward to all year, and this year, we’re going to create a few new traditions. We’re open to suggestion- what are your favorite holiday traditions?

Join the Conversation

