Introducing Shining Rock Photography

Drumroll, please….I have an announcement! (No, I’m not pregnant. Any time I say that I have an announcement, that’s someone’s first guess. This announcement is blog related!)

Lately there have been a lot of posts about the poetry project and Project 333 here on the Minify blog. In addition to those, I’ve been secretly working on a project that I’m really excited to share. Some of the most read and shared posts on this blog are photoposts. Josh and I have both loved photography since before we met. It’s a hobby and a passion project, and I’ve had fun sharing photos of our trips and our daily life here on Minify over the years. But this is not, primarily, a photo blog. It’s a daily life blog about minimalism, sustainable living, and building community, with a bit of politics and the arts (especially poetry and books) thrown in. I started thinking about having a site specifically dedicated to photography, where I could share some images and develop our small photography hobby into something a bit bigger.

Photography is one of my very favorite hobbies, and I love shooting portraits, weddings, travel photos, and a few series that I’ve had running over the years. One is entitled Urban Decay, and is a series of shots of the beauty in entropy that I’ve noticed in cities I’ve lived in and visited. Graffiti, peeling paint, trees growing from rooftops or inside buildings…there’s a beauty in the way the built environment, nature, and time interact. To share some of my favorite images from that series and a few others, I started a new site a few weeks ago. It’s called Shining Rock Photography (named after a favorite spot in our home of Western North Carolina, the Shining Rock Wilderness, which you should visit if you ever get the chance!) You can visit it here.

For a sampling of a few of my favorite photos from the site this far, click the gallery below.

Join the Conversation

